The connection to Microsoft Exchange is unavailable. Outlook must be online or connected to complet

Status
Not open for further replies.
B

Bethsellsyork

I have Windows 7. I had this same problem with Outlook 2007 on my laptop and now have upgraded to Outlook 2010. I am NOT TECHNICAL! I've seen this problem elsewhere in your forums but the answers are too technical for me. Can someone give me a simple solution? I just want to connect Outlook with my hotmail account. I also get the box where I'm supposed to type in a Microsoft Exchange Server and my email address and " check name" . I had POP3 under Microsoft Server Exchange and that didn't work so I changed it to SMTP (whatever that means) but I don't know if it worked because I can't get past the first error message!! Help!

H

Hal Hostetler - Print-Imaging [MVP]

You've loaded the Exchange Server Service into your profile and do NOT need it.'Control Panel|Mail|E-mail Accounts', click the Microsoft Exchange entry and click " Remove" ...you don't need this unless you've been specifically told you're connecting to an Exchange Server - a business email server that the general public never has need of. If it complains about a username and password when you do this, 'Control Panel|Mail|Show Profiles', delete the profile shown, create a new one, and do NOT add the Exchange Server service to it, all you need is theHotmail Connector . If you're running a 64 bit system, the " Mail" applet is in the " 32 bit programs" section of the Control Panel.

How to create and configure an e-mail profile in Outlook 2007 and Outlook 2003Hal

B

Bethsellsyork

Thank you for your reply. I also had to delete the Microsoft Exchange in the email section of Control Panel. Now it's working!

B

Bethsellsyork

Thank you for your help! I also had to delete the Microsoft Exchange in Control Panel/Mail. Now it's working!

Status
Not open for further replies.
Similar threads
Thread starter Title Forum Replies Date